Being a Regular

May 1, 2008 at 1:42 pm | Posted in Random | 10 Comments

I promise I’ll bake this weekend. Poor TWD, DB and CH just weren’t meant to happen this week. Until then, you’re stuck listening to my ramblings.

I’m a creature of habit. The nice and boring kind of creature. I go to the same places every time I go out to eat and I order the same things. My husband complains that of the 100 or so restaurants in our mini city we have been to only three. Of those three, there’s only one that we’ve been to more than once. We go to that one restaurant pretty much all the time. What can I say, I’m addicted to Acapulco’s chicken fajitas. Now, being a bit of a foodie, this is not something I’m exactly proud of, but I know what I like and I know better than to mess with something that’s not broken.

This brings me to lunch today. I typically go two one of two places with the grocery store and Panera tossed in once in a blue moon. It’s either Qdoba for a plain burrito or Quiznos for a Turkey Bacon Guac sub. Quiznos is across the street so I end up there more often than not. I love the people who work there. I feel like they’re almost friends, but not quite. I know about their lives, they know about mine. They know what I order so I can skip the line when it’s massive and I get some of the best discounts you’ve ever seen. Today I wondered over to Quiznos only to find that they shut down. Somehow I missed the memo that it was happening and I’m sad. Sure, there’s another one 5 minutes away, but it’s not the same.

There’s just something about being a “regular” that’s nice. When you walk in you brighten up someones day and they brighten up yours. Even if it’s only for a few brief minutes you get to know these people and appreciate them and no, it’s not just because they cut my bill in half. I play with their new babies, I celebrate their engagements, I update them on the weather. I just like being a regular. It’s like Cheers (the TV show, not the replica bars in Boston) where everyone knows your name. I like that, hell I love it. I want more of it.

So today, I was grumpy when I walked into the other Quiznos. Their service is terrible, the people aren’t friendly and frankly my sub wasn’t nearly as good as it usually is. Oh and did I mention I had to wait in line for 10 minutes and pay full price. Ugh, not my idea of a good time. I don’t want to be their regular, I’m bitter and I don’t like them.

Yes, I’m whining … I want my “regular” status back.
Are you a regular anywhere? What perks do you get?

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Bwahahaah~ Qdoba practically has me and monkey’s meal made by the time we reach the counter.
    Ehhrr, I mean. No. I have NO idea what you are talking about. I make home cooked meals fresh everyday. From scratch. Representing all 5 basic food groups. Yeah.

  2. Sorry your Quiznos closed 😦 I’ve only ever been a regular one place. It was this bistro back in GA that I went to for lunch pretty often. I always got the cheese board and the owner always came to the table to talk to me about the new cheeses she’d gotten in and would always throw in a few extra special ones that she wanted me to try. I hope she still remembers me when I go back to visit in a few weeks!

  3. Bummer. I feel your pain. I was a “regular” at my nearest Subway but it came under new management and employees got shifted around so my favorite sandwich maker is no longer there. I am still in denial so when I walk up to the sandwich assembly line I get an exasperated look when I say “the usual please” since the new girl has no idea what my usual is. sniff It sucks donkey balls. I am not special anymore. Just another 6″ sub-er…

  4. That sucks nikki 😦
    I was a regular at the Panera Bread by my old job. While I wasn’t as close with the employees as you were with yours I do miss them. I also used to get my favorite sandwich in the whole wide world at this small family owned pizza joint in town. I would spend every Friday at lunch there with homework and a Veggie sub with all the fixins! I usually got a free drink and always was served a delish sandwich. Even better, I was given total privacy and could sit for hours and enjoy my sandwich while tackling ECE 207 and escaping the SoCal summer heat. When they shutdown I seriously cried. To this day I have not found a sandwich as good as Milano’s Veggie Sub. I’m still grieving my loss 😦

  5. I know what you mean – I miss being a regular at a little Thai place where I grew up. They always knew I’d have a pot of tea (all to myself, thankyouverymuch), pad pak ruam mid, and cheesecake. Me and two of my girlfriends would go every Friday night. Oh how I miss that place…

  6. And in your honor, last night I made a fresh homecooked meal for me and monkey. Fresh from Qdoba’s that is. But I paid for it which is pretty much the same thing as making it myself.

  7. Oh wow, that sucks! The Quizno’s by me closed a couple of years ago and I wanted to revolt!
    We are regulars at Angelo’s which is our fave Italian restaurant downtown. We go there often for dinner and I go for lunch sometimes. “Mo” who is short for “Mohammad” runs the restaurant at night and he is AWESOME! We get free appetizers, free wine, our orders are put in immediately (because like you Nikki, I’m a creature of habit and don’t need a menu), the wine is coming out for me practically when we walk in the door because he knows what we like. It is definitely nice to be a “regular” somewhere. πŸ™‚

  8. hello! just wanna let you know that I was here… TC

  9. i’m a regular at some neighborhood joints…mostly it gets me free beer. i guess i can’t complain about that.

  10. Once upon a time we were regulars at one of the bars near MSU. We knew the bouncers, never paid cover, had our own couch (literally, one of the guys took it over in his truck) our own waitress and usually didn’t pay for pool or drinks. No wonder they went out of business!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

