Am I too Anal?

April 28, 2008 at 10:43 am | Posted in Random | 19 Comments

Note: the first two paragraphs are total rambling mumbo jumbo … the third paragraph is what’s important

This month is seriously kicking my butt.  I’m never busy, I don’t like to be, I prefer to make plans at the last minute and I like never needing a calender.  This month has been crazy though.  Between going away, being sick (which really isn’t enjoyable relaxation time), two bridal showers for weddings I’m in, baking for said bridal showers and what seems like a million other things  I’m ready to tap out and take a nap on my desk.  Yesterday was my first day off in awhile and I woke up at 11:45 and was back asleep from 2-6pm.  I’m still tired.

This weekend I had baking to do for the bridal shower and I kinda sorta don’t have any pictures for you.  I was running extremely late because I had tripped, knocked over milk, did some milk surfing, a split and dropped half of the cake I was making for the shower.  That meant I needed to bake a second cake, let it cool enough for me to frost it and make the 45 min drive to the shower location in 1.5 hrs … ugh not happening.  That second cake didn’t have time to set after I frosted it because I walked out the door 2 seconds later so it went slip sliding all over the place.  Somehow, I was able to save it and got tons of compliments on it, but damn I don’t want to do that ever again.  And my edible arrangement and trifle 😦 they were so damn cute, but I was in such a rush pictures were never taken.

So this brings me to the real reason for my post.  At the shower, the bridal party’s gifts were the last to be opened.  The group gift was opened, then the gift from me and two of the other BMs was opened.  While the second gift I was a part of was being opened the MOH got up and started putting out dessert.  Now, I made all of the dessert and there were still last touches that needed to be complete before they were put on the table.  Of course I wasn’t going to leave while the gift I bought was being opened and if someone had asked if everything was good to be set out I would have told them what needed to be done.  Instead, as soon as my gift is opened I rush over as the MOH is putting out my trifle that still needs it’s top layer of cool whip (I didn’t want the tin foil to smoosh it and it takes 3 seconds).  I really don’t want to be adding the top layer while it’s on the table, but I was given no say in how the dish was put out there because someone else took it upon them self to assume and put my goodies out without mentioning it to me first.  Then, to make matters worse, my cake that I saved from almost certain death was left on the bottom of the cake carrier when it was put out on the table.  Whaaaaaaaaaaaat?  I would NEVER put a cake out on the table with that thing underneath it.  The big clips around the sides do not belong on a pretty table dammit!  My cake had been through enough that day, it did not need to add white trash presentation to the list of it’s problems.

I know CB will agree with me on this one, but what do the rest of you think?  Is it super anal retentive that after spending hours and I mean many hours on the things I made that I should want them put out on the table complete and looking pretty?

19 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well obviously you know I agree. I just think its common courtesy that the MOH at least ask/tell you that she was putting your shiz out and if there were any last minute things that needed to be done in the handling of it. I probably would have been rude while she was setting out *my* dessert and yelled across the room to let me handle it but thats just me… I am ghetto fab like that 😉

  2. I don’t know who the hell MOH is but I agree with CB. You most definitely should have been the one to put out the desserts. After spending as much time on them you certainly want them to look as pretty as possible.

  3. I completely agree with you. Unless you have given someone else instructions on what to so with your food, they need to let you put it out. Nobody else knows what else needs to be added to your item, so they don’t know what to do. I completely agree with you, and no, I don’t think you are being too anal.

  4. CB – I knew you would agree 😛
    Mama dukes – Holy shit you actually decided to come visit my blog? It’s a f’ing miracle
    NINA – TY I’m glad I’m not the only one

  5. I don’t think that’s being anal… you made your dessert, you want to set out your dessert, end of story.

    I’m sure she put out whatever she made.

  6. Well see Julie, that’s kinda the kicker. She made orzo salad … that’s it. Me and two of the other BMs made EVERYTHING else. The fact that she took credit for the whole party didn’t help her cause either.

  7. I completely agree with you. It was your stuff, you know what it’s supposed to look like. Sounds like she didn’t really care anyway, just wanted to look like “she” was doing everything.

  8. I think that is so completely rude. I mean I am pretty stinkin anal myself, so my opinion probably doesn’t help in this sitch, but she should have left it to you. I’m sure everything was tasty as hell anyway, Princess Nikki.

  9. It just seems odd to be putting out dessert while she’s still opening presents, IMO. And after all the effort to bake multiple desserts, I think you should be the one to put them out, so everyone knows who made them! Credit where credit is due.

  10. I can see it from both sides. I have been known to put my cakes out on their cake carriers, so I can’t totally sympathize. However, it does seem like she could say “hey I”m going to start setting out the desserts, is there anything you need to do with them?” But then, that is the difference between a true hostess and someone just putting up with having people over.

  11. Nikki, I’m with you! I would want to put my own items out so I can present them properly as well as be able to watch the bride open my gift. Sorry it happened!

  12. I agree with you. Presentation is important!

  13. I am so with you on this one. I would hate someone else putting out my dessert! I wouldnt have waited until my present was opened, I would be up whipping that dessert out from underneath whoever was trying to touch it. Mind you, I think i have a touch of OCD. Or do other non-foodie people just not get it!?

  14. also, what is and who is an MOH?

  15. The maid of dishonour should’ve kept her dirty paws off of your goods. There would’ve been a brawl right there if they had been my desserts, I’m trailer trash enough as it is without anybody setting things out on the carriers! You ain’t being anal, she just didn’t have no good sense or home training.

  16. Short and sweet answer is NO. But you already know that. You have every right to feel defensive about something you worked so hard on.
    Yeah, so now for the big girl panties~ it’s easy to see things from your point of view because I’m the same way. Anal perfectionist who takes great pride in her work. If I put myself in the MOH’s shoes though she probably thought she was being a good hostess which it technically is her job to be for the shower. I can imagine she was wanting to get things out so there wouldn’t be a lull timing wise when bride was done unwrapping~ and she prob thought she was being helpful to you!
    I honestly can’t count the times I have stressed out in the same situation. I’ve broken down and CRIED I’ve been so stressed with a wedding cake. I’m going to give you the response that will totally irritate you now but is true. Looking back~ I cannot believe I let myself get so stressed out. Cause the only person who ever noticed was me. I honestly wish I had enjoyed the occasions more and let the little things just slide.
    I’ll let CB call me an old fogey now. It’s true anyways. 😉

  17. I agree with you, but so many people have no understanding or appreciation for the preparation of food, nevermind the presentation. We see this in our own blogging community, evident from the lack of effort some people seem to use when taking pictures of their work. People like us are picturing the final creation as we are making it and have a vision for the presentation – so it’s really hard to have someone else mess with that. I’m sorry your feelings were hurt 😦

  18. I had prepared a witty comment here, but for the sake of sleeping in a bed and not on the couch I will leave it up your imaginations.

  19. TW, me? call you old? sheesh. give me some credit… ps. YOU’RE OLD. 😉 but I hear ya on the sitch. Maybe 10-20-50 years from now it won’t matter but I know at the time I’d be peeved esp since I know said MOH wasn’t trying to be helpful so I might be biased on that info too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

