Cupcake Hero: Marshmallow – Peanut Butter, Banana and Fluff Sammycakes aka Cuppywiches aka Cupcakes

March 29, 2008 at 1:09 am | Posted in cupcakes, Peanut Butter | 5 Comments

I love s’mores. I adore them, they’re just delightful. I heard marshmallow and thought mmm s’more cupcakes. Then cupcake hero entries started showing up in my google reader and guess what, everyone else likes s’mores just as much as I do. Time to rethink my plan of attack.

I spent up until the last day procrastinating of figuring out my new plan of attack. At first I was going to do chocolate cupcakes with marshmallow swirl and PB frosting, but then I remembered that I have a bunch of ripe bananas that were just waiting to be made …

https://i1.wp.com/i154.photobucket.com/albums/s255/nikki57575757/March292008008.jpg

I’ll be taking a new pic of the middle tomorrow because this one is ugg-o, but it’s late and not happening now

Turkey sandwiches are good, but they will never compare to my absolute favorite sandwich, the beloved peanut butter and banana. I don’t remember the first time I had a peanut butter and banana sandwich, but I do know that from the time I first tried them I knew they would be my friend forever (yes I’m friends with sandwiches :P). And when you think of sandwiches that involve peanut butter, second to jelly you think of fluff. Even though CB was disappointed in my change of plans because she doesn’t like bananas (little whiner) I wasn’t changing my mind.

These really reminded me of PB Banana and fluff sandwiches and I couldn’t be happier. MMMmmm

Recipes after the break

Banana Cupcakes Adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. In a large mixing bowl, cream shortening and sugar. Add the eggs, vanilla, bananas and buttermilk. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to banana mixture. Fill 18 paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full.
  2. Bake at 350 degrees F for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Remove to wire racks to cool completely. In a small mixing bowl, cream the butter, sugar and enough milk to achieve desired spreading consistency. Frost cupcakes.

Peanut Butter Pudding

I made my own vanilla pudding, but you could just as easily use store bought vanilla pudding and mix approximately 1.5 cups of vanilla pudding with 1/3 a cup of PB in your mixer. I used chunky PB because that’s what we had, but creamy will work too.

Vanilla Pudding

Ingredients

  • 3 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions

Scald 2 2/3 cups of the milk. Mix cornstarch, sugar and salt; stir in remaining 1/3 cup milk. Add to scalded milk and cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until thickened and smooth. Continue cooking vanilla pudding for about 5 minutes to thoroughly cook cornstarch. Cool vanilla pudding slightly; stir in vanilla and pour into serving dishes. Vanilla pudding recipe serves 6.
Marshmallow Creme From Phe/MOM/enon2 large egg whites
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup light corn syrup
2 tablespoons water
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Pinch of saltCombine the ingredients in a metal bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water and whisk constantly until thick and hot to the touch. Remove from heat and using either a hand held electric mixer at high speed or standing mixer with whisk attachment until thick and glossy, about 10 minutes.
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Even though its banana… Great job! I just want the frosting please…

  2. I love anything with banana and peanut butter. Add in marshmallow, and I can’t resist!!

  3. This looks so good! Peanut butter and banana is one of my favorite combinations!

  4. Wow! I gained 5 lbs just imagining eating that cupcake!

  5. Your cupcake has been chosen for ATC’s Weekly Cupcake Collection! Click her for more info. Looking forward to your next cupcake creation!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

