TWD: Caramel Topped Flan

March 25, 2008 at 11:43 pm | Posted in Eggs, Tuesdays with Dorie | 12 Comments

It’s still before midnight in Cali where CB is so I’m just going to pretend I made it in under the wire. I’ll be honest, I’ve never had flan before, but it didn’t sound that appetizing. Cold baked eggs? ummm thanks but no thanks. I was planning on making it yesterday just so I could say I had made it, but the pile of dishes got in my way. After looking at all the flan today I was even less enthused it looks like baked eggs. I honestly thought I might not make it, it was 10pm and I was still debating it. Then my hubs walked into the room. I had promised him dessert last night and had never made anything, he was looking for dessert. I told him about my meh feeling about flan. I was hoping for him to say I don’t like flan because then I would have felt like I was off the hook, but nooooooo he couldn’t do that. He got all excited and told me he LOVED flan. Guess I’m making flan.

Actually, the flan was really easy to make, I made baby flans in these random short ramekins I have (thus the flat looking flan) and, like everyone else I had too much flan mixture and even after doubling the caramel I was short. So the last bunch got dumped in a 4*4 pan and made without caramel.

The end result, it looks pretty and smells good, but I’m just not a fan of flan hehe G on the other hand loved it and ate his little baby flan in under a minute. The dog also got a taste when G wasn’t paying attention and she seemed to love it too.

Recipe after the break

Caramel Topped Flan

For the Caramel
1/3 cup sugar
3 tbsp water
squirt of fresh lemon juice

For the Flan
1-1/2 cups heavy cream
1-1/4 cups whole milk
3 large eggs
2 large egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Getting Ready: Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a roasting pan or a 9-x-13-inch baking pan with a double thickness of paper towels. Fill a teakettle with water and put it on to boil; when the water boils, turn off the heat.

Put a metal 8-x-2-inch round cake pan-not a nonstick one-in the oven to heat while you prepare the caramel.

To Make the Caramel: Stir the sugar, water and lemon juice together in a small heavy-bottomed saucepan. Put the pan over medium-high heat and cook until the sugar becomes an amber-colored caramel, about 5 minutes-remove the pan from the heat at the first whiff of smoke.

Remove the cake pan from the oven and, working with oven mitts, pour the caramel into the pan and immediately tilt the pan to spread the caramel evenly over the bottom; set the pan aside.

To Make the Flan: Bring the cream and milk just to a boil.

Meanwhile, in a 2-quart glass measuring cup or in a bowl, whisk together the eggs, yolks and sugar. Whisk vigorously for a minute or two, and then stir in the vanilla. Still whisking, drizzle in about one quarter of the hot liquid-this will temper, or warm, the eggs so they won’t curdle. Whisking all the while, slowly pour in the remainder of the hot cream and milk. Using a large spoon, skim off the bubbles and foam that you worked up.

Put the caramel-lined cake pan in the roasting pan. Pour the custard into the cake pan and slide the setup into the oven. Very carefully pour enough hot water from the kettle into the roasting pan to come halfway up the sides of the cake pan. (Don’t worry if this sets the cake pan afloat.) Bake the flan for about 35 minutes, or until the top puffs a bit and is golden here and there. A knife inserted into the center of the flan should come out clean.

Remove the roasting pan from the oven, transfer the cake pan to a cooking rack and run a knife between the flan and the sides of the pan to loosen it. Let the flan cool to room temperature on the rack, then loosely cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

When ready to serve, once more, run a knife between the flan and the pan. Choose a rimmed serving platter, place the platter over the cake pan, quickly flip the platter and pan over and remove the cake pan-the flan will shimmy out and the caramel sauce will coat the custard.

Yield: 6 to 8 Servings

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. w00t. I am proud of you. Making the eggcellent flan even though you didn’t want to. At least G liked it right?

  2. Your flan looks delicious! Glad your husband liked it! I think it is a nice dessert but for me it’s too rich. Next time I’ll prepare it with milk only.

  3. Nice looking flan! I love how dark your caramel looks!

  4. Good for you for giving it a go, even when you didn’t think you’d like it. Glad others in your house were pleased with it. Flan is also not my favorite. I like the creamier versions I have found here in Peru. Yum!

  5. Oh so pretty with all that caramel! Even though liking flan is hit-or-miss, I’m glad you gave it a try!

  6. glad you made it. how did the flan with no caramel taste?

  7. Looks great, and I’m with your husband, I love flan!

  8. Nice flan! How did you get stop that flan on top from sliding off the plate? he he!

  9. flan-a- licious! (And kudos on getting hubs to wash up the dishes.)

  10. I love your caramel! It looks very tasty!

  11. Looks great! (I’m forever starting baking too late and staring at a clock waiting for it to finish up already!)

  12. These were great fresh, but the caramel was way too sweet the day after. I recommend you eat them immediately 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

