Butter Butter and more Homemade Butter

March 24, 2008 at 7:09 pm | Posted in Homemade randomness | 18 Comments

I decided I wanted to try my hand at making homemade butter, it seemed easy enough, pour cream in KA, mix for awhile and you have yummy butter. I get a thrill out of making things that you typically buy at the store myself and this seemed like the perfectly easy opportunity to satisfy that urge. It was easy, tasted great and was loads of fun, the only problem … I go through things like flour, sugar, butter and eggs like it’s my job (ohh wouldn’t that be fun) so this isn’t something I would do all the time, but it’s perfect for slathering on my toast in the morning.ย  Is it cost effective?ย  Look in the comments for the answer.

Homemade Butter

Pour heavy cream into your mixer

Turn it on high and start mixing. It will start to get airy and fluffy.

Then it will hit the whipped cream stage, if you’re not in the dark ages you should have a general idea what that looks like.

This is where it gets fun. Usually, you need to be careful to not over whip the cream so you don’t ruin your delicious whipped cream, but this time, you CAN! After it hits the whipped cream stage it will gradually start to break down and you’ll end up with curdled looking, pale yellow, flat whipped cream. Towards the end you’ll even start to see liquid (buttermilk) start to build up at the bottom.

When you hit the point the butter starts to slosh around and buttermilk starts finding it’s way outside of the mixer you know it’s done! You’ll have a pool of buttermilk with butter clumped together in it.

At this point all you need to do is put all the butter in cheesecloth (or a Williams Sonoma dish towel like I did :P), squeeze the remaining buttermilk out and you’re done! At this point you can salt it or put anything else your crazy little mind can think of in it. Then, push pieces into a mason jar or Tupperware making sure there are no air bubbles, then cover it with water and put it in the fridge. Why the water and air bubble prevention? The air will make it spoil faster, so the longer you want it around, the more attention you need to pay to this step.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yummm. I made butter once. In Kindgergarten, in little baby food jars. ๐Ÿ™‚ Except, I think I threw it at a boy and it bust open…. lol. Your pictures definetly make me want to try it again and not in a baby food jar. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let’s see you make mayo now.

  2. LMAO you threw it at a boy I love it. You were a fiesty little one weren’t you?

    And actually, I was looking at a mayo recipe in this months bon appetit, so that may just be the next random homemade goodness you see.

  3. ::bowing down::
    You’re like Suzy Butter Maker. I am not worthy. Does it taste different? buttery better?

  4. Wowza. You are like the queen of all things domestic! This looks yummy. I love butter! Make me some cheese now!

  5. You are such a rock star! Making your own butter!? What’s next? Can I request goat cheese?

  6. Hmm goat cheese may be a bit much, but I do want to try mozarella … can we compromise?

  7. Wow! I didn’t even know you could do that. How cost efficient is it vs just buying? Is it worth the time and $ for the taste?

  8. If you buy a larger container of cream it might be close, but buying pints is not cost effective. I’d say it’s worth it to make for butter you’ll use for toast in the morning and on rolls and things like that, but not worth the cost to toss into baked goods (I go through butter like it’s my job so it would get really ineffective quickly).

  9. Ok I just looked it up on peapod (delivery grocery store that has reg store prices)

    4 sticks (2 cups) of butter are $3.39
    1 pint heavy cream – $2.50

    Now they don’t have quarts of heavy cream on the site(limited selection) but, in pints heavy cream is about $.15-$.20 cents more than light, and a quart of heavy cream is $4.19, so probably $4.50 for a quart of heavy cream is my best guess, which means it’s about $1 more to make it yourself. The thing to keep in mind is that other half is buttermilk and I get charged an arm and a leg for buttermilk, so if you’ll use the buttermilk it’s probably worth it because you’ll have about 2 cups of buttermilk left over which is enough for 1 batch of a lot of things. And really how often do you use the whole quart of buttermilk they make you buy before it goes bad?

  10. Mmm… homemade butter… so good. Have you ever tried to make cultured butter? I’ve been told that’s even better.

  11. Love homemade butter. I’ve never tried it in a mixer. Believe it or not FIL still makes homemade butter with a churn. (Gotta love the country) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. I don’t think I would have ever thought to make my own butter!! I don’t think I would make a habit of it, but I would definitely give it a try!

  13. OOH! Homemade butter sounds fab. I’ll be making some up ASAP.

  14. Something else to add to my list of things to make! I finally tackled orange marmalade, after years of procrastinating, and I’m pretty proud of myself.

  15. OK~ Gourmet mag had me totally thinking BUTTER and then I was totally just reading about this today on Brownie Points blog~ I feel like you all are ganging up on me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m so going to make butter, ok? You win! I do think the buttermilk is an additional bonus. You only need a little bit for cupcakes and then what do you do with the rest? This would be a perfect solution.

  16. How long does the butter stay fresh? A week or two??? Excellent idea for when I’m about to toss out cream…

  17. Ah, butter. I make cultured butter, myself. It’s an additional step, but so worth it. Have you seen the prices for cultured butter in the store?

    I also rinse all of the buttermilk out with lots of cold water to prevent it from going rancid. I’ll have to try using cheesecloth to get the remaining water out ๐Ÿ™‚ sounds better than my method of squishing it against a bowl with a wooden spoon.

    I also keep meaning to get to a nearby dairy for fresh, cream-top milk so that I can try skimming my own cream.

  18. Ooo homemade butter! How fun.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

