Kumquat Marmalade and Orange Marmalade

March 21, 2008 at 12:34 am | Posted in Marmalades/Jams/Jellies | 9 Comments

I was searching through my Google Reader and I saw Kumquat Marmalade on Habeas Brulee. I had some kumquats I had picked up because I needed to try them on their own and they hadn’t really been eaten. As G said, “they’re too tart.” I figured this was the perfect thing to try it out on. If it was a failure, they weren’t being eaten anyway. Lucky for me it was a success, G loved it and I liked it so much I decided to try it out with my not so bloody blood oranges. The orange wasn’t quite as good, but I definitely recommend making the kumquat marmalade while you can, the season is going to end soon and you won’t be able to find the little guys for a year.

Instructions

Peel and seed 1 lb of kumquats. Put them in a pan and add 4 cups of water. Cover and let sit overnight (Habeas Brulee also wrapped the seeds in cheesecloth and left them in the water, but I didn’t have cheesecloth so I didn’t). The next day bring the mixture to a boil then let simmer for 45 min to 1 hr. Then add 4 cups of sugar, turn up the heat a bit and let it go for another 15 minutes or so. You’ll know it’s done when you take a bit out and it gels up when you let it cool. So easy and so tasty!!

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I bet John would love this… But I don’t think I’m a nice enough wife to make this for him. 🙂 Seems like a long process.

  2. It may seem long, but it’s really easy. It’s a lot of letting things sit and do their own thing until the very end.

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever had a kumquat. Send me some marmalade NB!

  4. That’s all there is to making marmalade? You rock!

  5. Sweetie, you should get some little mason type jars and save some of this stuff.

    (yes, i’m telling you to go buy something, its a miracle i know)

  6. When you made it with the orange, do you peel the orange first?

  7. yes I peeled first … orange peels taste like ass

  8. Thank you, I appreciate your answer so much that I won’t ask how you can verify the comparison.

  9. i love kumquats 🙂 i never realized that making marmalade was so simple!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

