TWD: Brioche Snails

March 18, 2008 at 10:59 pm | Posted in Breads, Chocolate, Tuesdays with Dorie | 17 Comments

Whew, my snails crawled in right at the last minute.

You may be wondering why raisins aren’t in the title … well, I’m a little raisined out and I’m tired of having to remember to keep baked goods away from the dog. As bad as chocolate is, I know my pooch needs a lot of chocolate before it hurts her, whereas a handful of raisins could kill her. So, I replaced one doggie deadly delight with another. I made Chocolate chip Brioche Snails.

Other than my dough not wanting to stop rising, which may be my own fault, I think there’s a slight possibility that I grabbed the rapid yeast instead of the active, everything went smoothly. I loved loved loved the pastry cream, at first I wasn’t sure about it, but a few tastes later, I was in love.

https://i2.wp.com/i154.photobucket.com/albums/s255/nikki57575757/March182008014.jpg

Once I tried my chocolate chip snails I realized I wanted a topping, but the glaze wasn’t sounding as good as drizzling some of the TCHO chocolate that came in the mail from Blake Makes on it. Boy oh boy is that chocolate yummy. Both my hubs and I loved the chocolate and I was itching to use it and it was a fantastic idea. MMmmm MMmmm good.

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay, you made it! I’ve seen several snails today made with chocolate chips, but I’m pretty sure yours is the only one with chocolate drizzled on it as well. Yum. =) Oh, and I did use instant yeast instead of active dry, but I cut the amount back to 3 1/2 tsp, which seemed to work pretty well.

  2. ^ I would have done that if I had realize I grabbed the wrong packet πŸ˜› That’s what I get for having too much yeast all stacked up together

  3. They were in the garden with my snails, having a party. Why are y’all trying to make me make more snails? Loving the colour and glaze!

  4. omg. chocolate drizzle. So freaking genius. I am not worthy… I am not worthy…

  5. Next time, my snails will be chocolate snails. Oh, yes. Genius!

  6. Leave it to Nikki to choc-lo-fy it! I kid, I kid. You did great!

  7. Ooooh! Chocolate drizzle! That rocks!

  8. Also available in chocolate πŸ™‚ They look so pretty!!!

  9. There they are, they look perfect! Love the subtle chocolate drizzle.

  10. Gorgeous dah-ling! Love the chocolate on top, that chocolate is uber good! I bet they tasted amazing. Great job! Extra points for being a procrastinator too. πŸ˜‰

  11. Chocolate drizzle looks amazing!

  12. Wow – chocolate snails… those sound deadly!

  13. Chocolate chip snails… brilliant!

  14. yum! these look great! you are definitely the only one who did the chocolate drizzle πŸ™‚ genius!

  15. Oh yum! What a great idea with the chocolate! I got some of the TCHO from Blake Makes but I didn’t get it until after I ate all of my brioche snails. I’m putting this on the list for next time!

  16. These snails look beautiful, so flaky and the chocolate drizzle is perfect. You have a very appealing blog and I will be back!

  17. When you live with a chocolate addict (me) and have like random assortment of 2 lbs chocolate chips lying around all the time it inspires her to be creative!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

