7-Yolk Pasta Dough

March 17, 2008 at 12:00 am | Posted in pasta | 11 Comments

There’s something special about fresh, homemade pasta dough. I don’t know how to explain it, but you can taste the freshness and it’s wonderful! I don’t always have the time to make my own pasta, usually I just used the boxed stuff. You can make a wonderful home cooked meal with boxed pasta, but having fresh, homemade pasta brings it to a whole new level. It’s not an essential element to a great pasta dish so all too often it’s easier to rely on boxed pasta. Not only that, but I have no means to make fun pasta shapes at home. As non-essential as it is, I love making my own pasta.

https://i0.wp.com/i154.photobucket.com/albums/s255/nikki57575757/March162008013.jpg

I’ve tried a number of recipes over the years and I had finally found my go to recipe. It tasted great, but the dough could be a little hard to work with when it came to rolling it out, so when I saw the 7-yolk pasta dough on Smitten Kitchen blog I was willing to give it a try. That and making a pasta nest sounded like way too much fun to pass up.

https://i2.wp.com/i154.photobucket.com/albums/s255/nikki57575757/March162008019.jpg

I knew I needed to be careful and not let my yolks destroy my pretty little nest so I took things slow and had no problems. I love this dough, it was easy to work with and it made the most beautiful sheets of pasta and the pasta was yummy as can be. Even puddles was stealing scraps that fell on the floor. I think I’ve found a new go to pasta recipe!

Seven-Yolk Pasta Dough
Adapted from French Laundry Cookbook and Smitten Kitchen

1 3/4 cups (8 ounces) all-purpose flour
6 large egg yolks
1 large egg
1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
1 tablespoon milk

Pour out the flour and make a “bowl” with it. Make sure the sides are high enough to hold all the ingredients.

Add the other ingredients to the center, break the yolks with your fingers and then start to swirl the eggy mixture in a circle allowing the flour to gradually be added to the mixture.

Mound flour on a board or other surface and create a well in the center, pushing the flour to all sides to make a ring with sides about 1-inch wide. Make sure that the well is wide enough to hold all the eggs without spilling. As the flour is incorporated the sides of the flour circle will get too far away to really allow flour to be incorporated so you’ll need to bring them in a little closer, a pastry scraper can help with this.

As it gets to be too thick for you to swirl around you should begin to cut the flour into the dough with a pastry scraper. Once you have added all the flour begin kneeding the dough. Roll it into a ball and press it forward with the heal of your hand. Then, instead of folding the dough over itself like with bread dough, roll it back into a ball and repeat the process. Do this a few times then let the dough rest for a few minutes.

Come back to your dough and continue kneading it. The dough is ready when it snaps back when you stick your finger through it. It can take about 10-15 minutes of kneading, but you’re better off kneading too much than to little. Apparently, this dough can not be over worked so you don’t need to worry about overdoing it.

Dust the clean work surface with a little flour. Knead the dough by pushing against it in a forward motion with the heels of your hands. Form the dough into a ball again and knead it again. Keep kneading in this forward motion until the dough becomes silky smooth. The dough is ready when you can pull your finger through it and the dough wants to snap back into place. The kneading process can take from 10 to 15 minutes.

Once the dough is finished being kneaded wrap it up and put it in the fridge for 30 min to an hour before rolling it out.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Fun! I want to try homemade pasta (maybe that will bring me up the expert level? uh uh?) but I need to work up the courage first. haha. Love your pictures as always!

  2. John and I were talking about homemade pasta last night! I told him I would find a recipe today and we’d make it this week. It’s like you read my mind. πŸ™‚

  3. I love the top picture of the pasta drying. I’ve made pasta a time or two, but got frustrated because the dough was hard to roll out. It sounds like you’ve found a great recipe to work with.

  4. CB – I don’t think you’re ready for expert yet πŸ˜›
    NINA – I’m just good like that
    DI – this was definitely much easier to work with than any other pasta dough I’ve made!

  5. I’ve always wanted to make my own pasta – it is truly one of my favorite things to eat. One of these days I need to get brave and just try it! Your pictures make it look so wonderful.

  6. It really does taste better than any box pasta I’ve ever eaten. Bertolli eat your heart out!

  7. i have only made homemade pasta once and could not tell the difference in taste… i’d like to give this recipe a try and see if i like it better πŸ™‚ thanks!

  8. Awesome picture! Of course I love anything pasta related. I really need to try this sometime…hmm…

  9. Beautiful pasta! I got a pasta maker for Christmas but have yet to use it. I’m not really sure how to dry my pasta afterwards and if I have to before cooking it. I’ve got to do some reading up on it. πŸ™‚

  10. Ashley it’s really easy to dry it out, I have a little rack that I hang the pasta on, but pretty much anywhere you can hang it to dry it for a bit will do

  11. This is the best pasta! However its better done in a bowl. Same method but when the walls of flour break its not a mess.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

