Booscotti ie Doggie Biscotti

March 16, 2008 at 1:12 pm | Posted in Dog Treats | 13 Comments

As you may or may not know, I despise Rachel Ray. Her obnoxious raspy voice, her fake smile and her oh so annoying phrases drive me bonkers, but when I saw she was doing a show on pet food, I knew I was going to watch. I love making treats for my puppy. Especially after all the recalls of dog products in the last year I worry less when I have a direct hand in what she eats.

All in all the show was pretty good if you get rid of the parts where Rachel Ray is talking.. The “dog food” she made was basically food she would eat that her dog can eat too. I already know how to feed my dog table scraps so there was nothing new there, but the doggie biscotti did look pretty good, so I figured I would give it a try.

https://i1.wp.com/i154.photobucket.com/albums/s255/nikki57575757/March162008037.jpg

I wanted to top it with the pretty carob that Rachel Ray did, but I couldn’t find any without taking a 30 min trip to Petco, which is the only place I could remember seeing carob that would work. Puddles didn’t seem to mind. These were quick and easy to whip up and Puddles loves them even more than I realized. She has convinced G to keep giving them too her all day. He’s given her so many that she’s resorted to hiding bits of them around the house. Wonderful … thanks G, you’ll be cleaning up that mess later.

Peanut-Carob Isabooscotti from Rachel Ray

2 cups whole-wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 pinches ground cinnamon
1 cup chunky peanut butter
1 cup milk
1 cup carob chips

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.In a large bowl, combine that flour, baking powder and cinnamon. Place the peanut butter in a medium bowl and microwave at high power to soften, 5 to 10 seconds. Whisk in the milk, then stir the mixture into the dry ingredients.

Shape the dough into a long, flattened log and place on a greased baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes; remove from the oven and let cool for 10 minutes. Slice the log crosswise on an angle into 1-inch-thick pieces. Set the slices on their sides (they should look like biscotti) and bake until crisp, 10 to 12 minutes more. Transfer to a rack to cool.

Melt the carob in a microwave or on the stovetop over low heat. Thin the melted carob with 1 tablespoon water, if needed. Using a spoon, drizzle the melted carob over the biscuits. Let cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We just got back from a visit at my parents house. My toddler has a new fave snack… organic dog treats. He thought they were cookies and got into them. The ingredients on the list were pretty much all the same ones from the RR recipie (I heart her BTW) When my Mom saw my son eat his second “cookie” she tried one too and said they were pretty good.

  2. So freaking cute! Bummer I missed that show. Did she make anything bunny friendly?? 😉

  3. Haha on the story above^^ Usually you can find carob at health food stores. I have a peanut butter biscuit recipe that B’s dog seems to like a lot. Let me know if you want it.

  4. Your puppy is so cute! How sweet of you to make treats for him.

  5. opps I meant her

  6. NCTPTI – Haha that’s so funny. Actually, I did try them and they’re just really bland. I can see it being something a baby would like

    CB – no bunny food me sowry

    Zebe – Well the health food store is further away. I did try the doggie health food store down the street and had no luck.

    BB – Isn’t she. I luv her

  7. Does it make me a puppy that those look good? Ok, not with carob. Ew. Everything else works for me. Cat snacks next!

  8. Your such a good dog mommy. I feel bad that I don’t make my doggie treats. (Hangs head in shame as Coco scoffs at her mother’s non-doggie treat making abilities)

    P.S. Coco wants to know if she can move in with you.

  9. Ohh another doggy … yes! I’ll take her 😛

    Actually, most of the dog treats I’ve made have been so easy and quick to make. These don’t make a massive batch, but the biscuits and ice creams I’ve made in the past make a ton

  10. Ha, she hid one in the couch right in front of me. Dogs are soooo amusing.

  11. puddles is adorable!

  12. Cookies for you puppy! When I saw that new Rachel Ray show I had no idea what was going on… I was like.. what the F is her dog doing there!? Now I understand. How many more shows are they going to give her… geez! Back to your biscuits… so great! And Puddles looks like a darling!

  13. I saw the show but also cannot stand RR, so I didn’t watch for long. Thank God for people like you that write this stuff down so that my Smatchimo doesn’t have to be neglected. Thanks for suffering though RR so that I can benefit for your thoughtfulness. Your puppy is precious!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

