Chicken and Dumplings

February 20, 2008 at 10:44 pm | Posted in Chicken, Soup | 12 Comments

I was too hungry at 9:30pm last night to take a picture before eating and my day old Chicken and Dumpling pictures I took tonight were horrible so I bring you my own beautiful drawings. I stuck with the ugliest, closest to beige color I could get my hands on. Paint only has like 10 options so my color choices were limited and my screen has a blue tint so orange looked beige to me.

On to the food.

I don’t know what got into me yesterday, but I wanted chicken and dumplings. I had the most massive craving ever, I don’t know where it came from, but I knew I wanted chicken and dumplings and damit I was going to have them. The only problem was that I had never made chicken and dumplings. I asked around and was directed to a most delicious looking recipe at Culinary Infatuation.

I am a bad recipe follower when I cook, the complete opposite of Chelley who coincidently had a similar craving for chicken and dumplings last night too. I’m also a horrible recipe writer, so you’ll probably be able to tell where I made changes.

Chicken and Dumplings

  • A bunch of cubed chicken breast … I used maybe 8ish tenderloins
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 4 carrots
  • 3 garlic cloves finely chopped
  • 3 Tbs./ a bunch of butter
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. flour (use a little more if you dump in as much wine as I did)
  • Lots o’ Wine -I used probably 1/2 -3/4 of a cup
  • 10 cups good quality chicken stock(warmed)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 Tbs. fresh sage chopped
  • 1 Tbs. fresh flat leafed parsley chopped
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1 tsp. dried marjoram
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Dumpling ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbs. baking powder
  • 3/4 cups half and half (I only had light cream close enough)
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbs. butter

Directions

  • In a large pot add a little olive oil and the cubed chicken. Cook that chicken up
  • Once the chicken is done add in butter, onions and spices. Saute for a few minutes to let flavors meld
  • Add garlic and let its yumminess soak in.
  • Add flour and stir constantly for a few minutes (add a little more butter if there doesn’t seem to be enough to make a roux).
  • Add wine and deglaze the pot scraping any bits from the bottom.
  • Add chicken stock a couple cups at a time whisking constantly.
  • Add carrots
  • Bring to a gentle boil, toss in your dumpling bits and cook 10-15 minutes until the dumplings are done enough for your taste.

 

Dumplings:

  • Sift all dry ingredients into a medium sized bowl.
  • Combine half and half and butter and heat in a microwave until butter has melted.
  • Add to flour mixture and mix together
  • Pinch off small balls and toss em in
12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOLOLOLOLOLOL.
    Best chicken and dumpling BU ever. Question? is the dumpling, the popcorn looking thing or the oval? (still laughing)

  2. beech I know you didn’t just make fun of my dumpling … and my egg too for that matter. That at least looks like an egg and chickens come out of eggs. Close enough

  3. I can’t wait to have more chicken and dumplings for lunch tomorrow! I will have to try the “from scratch” version of dumplings the next time I make them.

  4. CB I edited my picture so you can tell the difference.

    Chelley – you definitely should. The dumplings were tasty!

  5. I didnt get past the picture. The picture is money Nikki. Well done.

  6. Slush – I am a true artist bahaha

  7. That is the cutest pic! The legs were a good addition, lol.

  8. I have been craving chicken and dumplings also. I’m thinking about making my Granny’s recipe next week while T is gone. He isn’t a dumpling fan…how can you not be?!?

  9. HA! love your drawing!

  10. Hahahahaaha! I Love your drawing, too funny. Chicken + Dumplings = Crazy Delicious. : )

  11. Jamie – Can you imagine how shocked I was to see that you commented on my blog while I had been over on yours looking at your adobo chicken. Yum

    Ally – haha exactly!

  12. Love the drawing! Ha! And I know what you mean. Sometimes you just…want…dumplings.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

