Birthday Dinner: Marlbourough Meetinghouse Lemon Chicken with Thyme

February 8, 2008 at 1:34 am | Posted in Chicken | 13 Comments

My birthday dinner came two days early this year. My birthday is Saturday, I’ll be the big 2-5, but G won’t be home for my bday. He has a paintball tourney 10 hours away and I have my best friend’s baby shower the morning of my bday so I couldn’t go to his tourney even if I wanted to. Being the good wifey that I am I sacrificed him being around for my bday so he could go to his tourney, but you better believe I expected something good in return. And boy oh boy did he deliver.

Today he ended up not having to work in the afternoon so he did a ton of dishes. Yay. Then he called me and asked if I wanted to go out to dinner or if I wanted him to cook for me. I was tired and didn’t feel like going out tonight, so I told him to cook for me. G is great about helping me in the kitchen, but grilling and eggs are the two things he does on his own. I love getting breakfast in bed every weekend (I got a good one), but I didn’t want eggs and I was keeping my fingers crossed that he wouldn’t make his standard grilled chicken.

I called him on my way home and he was very excited about how his dish was coming along, but he mentioned that he forgot to get stuff to make a side. Ooops. I just hoped he could figure something out and I wasn’t going to end up with Spaghetti-O’s or something else along those lines.

I got home and he greeted me at the door with hugs, kisses and balloons. I even got a Disney princess one haha. Then he told me he had just finished cooking.   Perfect timing!

I walked into the kitchen and omg it smelled delicious and he even went all out on the presentation factor. I was truly impressed. I was even more impressed when I tasted it, it was delicious! In the end he went for some boxed potatoes we’ve had for who knows how long, but they were actually pretty damn good. All in all a success!

I even got cuppys later, but that’s another post

Recipe after the break

Marlbourough Meetinghouse Lemon Chicken with Thyme

Source: The New England Cookbook (originally from the Marlborough Meetinghouse church cookbook)

4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

3 tablespoons all purpose flour

1 tablespoon plus 2 tablespoons chopped fresh thyme or 1 1/4 teaspoons dried

2 teaspoons lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon fresh-ground black pepper

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon plus 2 tablespoons butter

3/4 cup chicken broth

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1 teaspoon sugar

8 thin slicks lemon

1. Place the chicken breasts between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and pound to an even thickness about 1/2 inch.

2. Stir together flour, 1 tbsp fresh thyme or 1 tsp dried, lemon zest, salt, and pepper. Coat chicken with flour mixture

3. Heat oil and 1 tbsp of butter in large skillet. Add the chicken breasts and cook over medium heat, turning once until golden brown and fully cooked, 10-15mins. Remove and put in an oven safe pan. Turn on oven very low and put it in the oven to keep it warm.

4. Add the broth and remaining thyme to the skillet, raise the heat to high and boil briskly, stirring up any browned bits clinging to the pan, until the sauce is somewhat reduced and lightly thickened, about 3 minutes. Add the lemon juice ans sugar and simmer for 1 minute. Cut the remaining 2 tsps of butter into small pieces and whisk it into the sauce until it melts.

5. Plate chicken and spoon sauce over the top.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. DAAAAYUM. I am truly impressed (and droooling). Score one for G. He totally gets lucky tonight right? bowchickabowbow
    Happy early birthday! 🙂

  2. He’s a keeper 😉
    Happy Birthday!

  3. Lucky girl, with such a husband! Happy Birthday tomorrow!

  4. Hello buddy.. really i njoyed ur blog..tat looks so gud..
    Happy Birthday!!
    http://www.lifeinfozone.com/category/foods-beverages/

  5. Very nice! Around here I’m lucky to get the eggs. Not because B doesn’t care, but he just has no skills. Boo on G being away for your birthday, that’s no fun. Hopefully the shower will be fun & make up for it. Try to have a good one! I wanna see the cuppycakes!

  6. Aww what a sweet husband, that looks delicious! Happy Birthday to you!

  7. Awww, he is so sweet! The chicken looks delish!

  8. Awesome picture!!! Happy birthday!!!

  9. wow~ that is super sweet. I LOVE it when the man cooks. mine only makes nachos and I don’t really think that counts. Speaking of which, his birthday is tomorrow too! Happy Birthday~ it was obviously a great day to be born on.

  10. happy birthday!!! i wish i got breakfast in bed every weekend!

    this looks so delicious! i love lemon… wish my hubby would cook for me!

  11. How wonderful! Happy Birthday! I turned 25 on Thursday and celebrated by getting up at 5:15 to go to work taking care of sick veterans at the VA! Great fun. Hopefully, I’ll get to celebrate sometime soon. You have a wonderful hubby!

  12. Happy Birthday! ::smooches!::

  13. Ha! Now I have proof that I am a good hubby! You can’t deny it now, all your internet friends LOOOOVE ME!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

