Superbowl Food

February 7, 2008 at 3:58 pm | Posted in Appetizer, Ground Beef | 7 Comments

This year there were only four of us watching the game at G and I’s friend place. That meant I couldn’t go too crazy with the amount of food I was going to bring over, but I still wanted to bring something good. With all the Superbowl Posts I got a little overwhelmed and wanted to make everything. In the end I narrowed it down to some quick, easy and tasty treats.

1. When someone mentioned rice krispy treats I got a craving for them like no other. I needed to make football shaped rice krispy treats. The only problem was finding a football pan. 2.5 hrs and 8 stores later I ended up buying a set of 30 cookie cutters that had a football in it. I made the treats according to the box, then dipped the tops in chocolate and made a pathetic attempt to put “laces” on them

2. Chocolate covered Strawberries. I was going to put laces on these ones too, but I haven’t done much piping in like 2 years and my skills were severely lacking.

3. “Homemade” Tortilla Chips – I’ve made them before here no reason to bore you with a repeat

4. Greg picked up some cheesy brats and buns. That’s all I know about those. G bought them and grilled them up

5. Sweet and Sour Meatballs! – The one thing I really made. Boy oh boy are these good. I had heard about them quite a few places, but when I saw these on Jamie’s list of recommendations I couldn’t pass them up. They were easy and delicious!

Cheryl and Zac Fighting over Rice Krispy Footballs

Sweet and Sour Meatballs
adapted from Alton Brown

3/4 pound ground pork (I used all ground beef)
3/4 pound ground round
1/2 cup finely grated Parmesan
1 whole egg
1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil
1 1/2 teaspoons dried parsley
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 cup bread crumbs

Sweet and Sour Sauce:
1 bottle (12 oz) of Heinz chili sauce
1 jar (18 oz) grape jelly

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the pork, ground round, cheese, egg, basil, parsley, garlic powder, salt, red pepper flakes, and bread crumbs. Using your hands, mix all ingredients until well incorporated. Use immediately or place in refrigerator for up to 24 hours. Shape the meatballs into rounds and place the meatballs on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden and cooked through.

In a large saucepan, add the chili sauce and grape jelly. Heat on low-medium heat until the jelly is completely melted. Add the meatballs to the sauce and simmer on low heat for 30 minutes. Alternatively, add the sauce ingredients and cooked meatballs to a crockpot and heat on low for 4-6 hrs for optimum flavor.

I lightly browned then cooked on high for two hours and they were a touch Dry. Next time I would just cook the meatballs completely and put it on low even if it is for a shorter time

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your treats look delicious! I could use some of those chocolate dipped strawberries right now.

  2. I’m gonna have to try those meatballs! They sound amazing!

  3. That’s such a cute picture! Your food looks so tasty! I’m ready for football season already! πŸ™‚

  4. Aw, your krispies are SO cute!!! Great idea. πŸ™‚

  5. I love the way your krispie footballs worked out. I’m so sorry that you looked so hard for a football pan and couldn’t find one. I might have an extra if you want it for next year. Now I want some Krispie treats! Good thing I’m on the way to the grocery store. Chocolate covered strawberries sound divine also!

  6. those rice krispies are so cute!!!

    glad you liked the meatballs, they are some of my favorite πŸ™‚ you got a great photo of them too!

    oh, and i almost never cook anything in my crockpot on high…

  7. I usually don’t either, but it seemed like a good idea at the time πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

