TWD: Orange Berry Muffins

January 29, 2008 at 11:10 am | Posted in Blog Event, Breads, Tuesdays with Dorie | 12 Comments

This is my first week baking with the Tuesdays with Dorie girls and I was unsure of what to expect from the Orange Berry Muffins. Hmm maybe it was more that I was worried they would be overly orange flavored and I wouldn’t like them. Orange flavor in muffins wasn’t something I thought I would love, but it was a perfect excuse to bake with the blood oranges I have lying around.

I loved these muffins! They were the perfect blend of a blueberry muffin with a light orange flavor. Perfection! Not only were they delicious as I should have expected, but they were also so easy to make. A few simple ingredients and a quick mix by hand was all these babies needed.

Now, head on over to visit the other TWD bakers.

Abby Sweets
eat me, delicious
Good Eats ‘n Sweet Treats
Quirky Cupcake

Sugar and Spice

Orange Berry Muffins

(Source: Dorie Greenspan “Baking: From My Home to Yours” p. 3)

Ingredients:
Grated zest and juice of 1 orange
About 3/4 cup buttermilk
2 large eggs
3 Tablespoons honey
1 stick (8 Tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1/3 cup sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
2-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup blueberries – fresh, preferably, or frozen (not thawed)

Decorating sugar, for topping (optional)

Getting Ready:
Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Butter or spray the 12 molds in a regular-size muffin pan or fit the molds with paper muffin cups. Alternatively, use a silicone muffin pan, which needs neither greasing nor paper cups. Place the muffin pan on a baking sheet.

Pour the orange juice into a large glass measuring cup or a bowl and pour in enough buttermilk to make 1 cup. Whisk in the eggs, honey and melted butter.

In a large bowl, rub the sugar and orange zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and the fragrance of orange strong. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and, with the whisk or a rubber spatula, gently but quickly stir to blend. Don’t worry about being thorough – the batter will be lumpy and bubbly, and that’s just the way it should be. Stir in the blueberries. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.

Bake for 22 to 25 minutes. If you want to top the muffins with decorating sugar, sprinkle on the sugar after the muffins have baked for 10 minutes. When fully baked, the tops of the muffins will be golden and springy to the touch and a thin knife inserted into the center of the muffins will come out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before carefully removing each muffin from its mold.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. [reserved for comment after I see pictures]

  2. Made with oranges! YUM! I can’t wait to see your pictures!

  3. Ok, so I meant blood oranges! Ha!

  4. So glad you’ve joined us! Can’t wait to see your pictures! 🙂

  5. oh yum! your muffies look all plump. Uh, you’re sending me some right? RIGHT!??!

  6. Gorgeous! I love the look at the guts too. Very nice. 🙂

  7. CB I think G staked his claim on this batch, but I may be convinced to send you a few. If you win the USCHO contest then your chances are even better

  8. And to my other TWD babes – thanks! I’m glad I joined in on the fun too!

  9. They look great! I really love that first photo. I would’ve thought the blood oranges would give it a darker colour.

  10. so glad you joined us! your muffins seem to have puffed up much better than mine 🙂 i love the idea of using blood oranges…

  11. They look just perfect. Orange is one of my favorite flavours…but I tend not to eat oranges themselves for some reason…

  12. I might have to try this sometime. I have cranberry orange right now and the cranberry is just a little too intense for me. I love BB muffins, so this might be the perfect thing for me.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

