Taking Self Checkout to a Whole New Level

January 23, 2008 at 10:26 pm | Posted in Random | 8 Comments

I have always loved self checkout at the grocery store. There are almost never lines and once you figure out all the places that you can screw it up it’s a breeze. Plus, I never worked at a grocery store so I get a cheap thrill out of scanning the items in. I love it!

Recently, my local Stop and Shop (grocery store) introduced a new program. It has to be the single coolest grocery store invention EVER. I’ve only had the wonderful opportunity to play with it once because G is usually the one I send out to grab what I need for dinner.

I know you’re one the edge of your seat anticipating what this wonderful invention could be so I’ll tell you. It’s a little thing called the Shopping Buddy . Here’s how it works, you walk into the store, scan your Stop and Shop card and grab what is essentially a bridal registry gun. The only difference is that this one actually works … quickly … I know all of you lovely brides have been there at the store with the PITA registry guns, this isn’t one of them. This one is pure color LCD heaven.

Once you have your scanner, you grab paper or plastic bags that are right there for you. If you’re a really good little doobie you’ll have your own bags with you. In case you care, the $2.99 canvas Trader Joes ones are the BOMB as are all things TJ! Now you’re ready to shop. Pretty much you scan and bag as you shop. How cool is that? No more loading up a shopping cart only to have to empty it out, scan it, bag it and put it back in your cart.

Even better is the fact that you have a running total of how much you’re spending. I have a bad habit of buying too much and not paying attention. I eventually use everything I buy, but it’s nice to know where you’re at.

I did a little research and it looks like it also keeps track of your shopping history and will tell you what’s on sale that you usually buy when you’re in a particular aisle. I’ve only used it once so I don’t know (I lost my Stop and Shop card and got a brand spanking new one just so I could play with the new toy), but I promise to let you know how that goes next time I get the opportunity to use the scanner.

So, you’re all done shopping, your bags are all packed up and now it’s time to pay. It can not get any easier than this. There are aisles just for people who used the scanners and you can also use them at any of the regular registers. All you have to do is scan the bar code they have on a sign at the register. Then it loads you whole shopping trip into the register in like 15-20 seconds, you pay and you’re done. Does it get any easier than that? I don’t think so.

What do you think? Is this the future of grocery stores or will too many people abuse this fun privilege and ruin it for the rest of us?

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is so freaking sweet. I want a scanner-magiggy too! I had way too much fun during wedding registry! T and I fought over it. LOL. I think it could be easily abused. I am not above admitting I might cheat but not in a mean spirited way, but maybe I wouldn’t go out of my way to correct the scanner if it came up with something cheaper? šŸ˜‰

  2. I always go in without a cart or basket because I’m only going to get “a few things”. I’d be in big trouble if I had a scanner taking up my hands too. This would be nice though so that you didn’t have to stand in line behind all of the people who insist on going through self check out even though they have no idea what they are doing.

  3. It sounds awesome, but my first thought was the dishonest people that might try to sneak other items into their bags. Do they have any type of system where they check what all you actually have?

  4. Nope, it’s all on the honor system as far as I can tell. Apparently, they first rolled this out in mid 2006 and they’re adding it to more stores so I assume it’s going well so far.

  5. Way cool! I love those gun things. I used to work in a grocery store and it was so much fun.

  6. That sounds awesome. I still get excited about the self-checkouts, those are cool.

    But gimme a SCANNER gun that adds stuff up for me as I go? You betcha!!!

  7. That is so cool! I would pay more for groceries to have that convenience. Hell I’d actually go grocery shopping!

  8. BB the night I played with it I actually thanked G for having me go to the store and typically I’ll do just about anything to get out of going to the store.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

