Peanut Butter Kisses aka Peanut Butter Blossoms

January 23, 2008 at 4:37 pm | Posted in Chocolate, Cookies, Peanut Butter | 4 Comments

::singing:: Peanuttttt … Peanut Butter and kisses.

For the December SBGEX (yes I was that late … love you for not hating me KT) I could not decide what to make. The wonderful elfster let me ask questions, but what else do you need to know when based on the pervious questions your pick has been asked you know that they have the same baked goods philosophy you do. I’ll give you some examples of areas where we agree.

1. No Nuts, but PB, Chocolate and Cream Cheese are all good.

2. We love snickerdoodles Really though, who doesn’t? If you are crazy enough to not like them please let me know why

3. The quote that says it all and truly makes her a woman after my own heart is “I just don’t like anything that would be considered good for me in my baked goods.”

I had nothing left to ask her. I pretty much figured anything I liked there was a pretty good chance she would like too and unless she lied to me, she liked my cookies.

This is one of the many wonderful recipes at One Tiny Pink Kitchen. My cookies were probably more than 2 points each because my wonderful hubby helped shape them and made them bigger than they were supposed to be, but I used butter instead of shortening so that makes up for it. Right?

Peanut Butter Blossoms
From: Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook and adapted by One Tiny Pink Kitchen

  • 1/2 cup shortening (or butter)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup eggbeaters (or 1 egg)
  • 2 tablespoons skim milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • Milk chocolate kisses or stars

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large mixing bowl beat shortening and peanut butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add the 1/2 cup granulated sugar, brown sugar, baking powder, and baking soda. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Beat in egg, milk, and vanilla until combined. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Stir in any remaining flour.

2. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll balls in the 1/4 cup granulated sugar. Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are firm and bottoms are lightly browned. Immediately press a chocolate kiss into each cookie’s center. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool. Makes 54.

3. To store: Place in layers separated by waxed paper in an airtight container; cover. Store at room temperature for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 3 months.

POINTS Per Cookie: 2 POINTS

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ok. You said the magic words: peanut butter. That is all I will need to sell T on these cookies! They look yummy!!

  2. Mmm. My gram makes them at Xmas time. They are always a fav. YUM!

  3. I have to admit that I have never ever baked with peanut butter even though I love to spread it on a slice of bread, especially with some chocolate sprinkles/jimmies on top. I think I’ll love your cookies but only with butter, not shortening!

  4. […] January 24, 2008 at 6:39 pm | In cupcakes | Tags: chocolate glaze, peanut butter Its all Nikki’s fault! I have that stupid song stuck in my […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

