Passing Judgement

January 22, 2008 at 12:15 pm | Posted in Random | 12 Comments

Am I a bad person? Lately, I keep hearing people talk about “baking,” but what they’re really talking about is throwing 3 eggs and some oil into a boxed mix. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve been known to use boxed mixes when I’m in a pinch or when I don’t feel like baking, but that’s the thing, I’m not baking when I use boxes. Am I? For me, baking is starting out from scratch, pulling out my KA, throwing eggs, flour, butter and whatever else inside and ending up with a delicious treat.

I feel like in todays society we’re so caught up in the hustle and bustle of life that no one takes the time to really bake, or even cook for that matter, anymore. This makes me sad. I love to bake and I enjoy cooking. Sure I like store bought crap when I’m being lazy, but I make a point of not always being lazy. I’m sorry, but nothing store bought will ever compare to a true home cooked meal or something baked from scratch and when I do use something store bought I certainly don’t try to pawn it off as something homemade.

Stop heating up pasta, throwing a jar of sauce on it and calling it home cooked and please stop calling store bought mixes and frosting baking. Unless you jazz it up a lot it’s nothing more than over processed, store bought crap.

I sometimes feel like people like me are a thing of the past.

What do you think?

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You ladies you cook from scratch are like an endangered species. You are rare and fascinating and it’s depressing that our society has nearly forced you out of existence. Stand proud and bake on or you will be lost forever!
    Baking from a box is about as close to baking as I can come but I have no one but myself to blame for that and by no means do I consider myself a baker or even claim that I bake/cook. I’m so proud of my domesticated jknotties!

  2. I agree with you. I was saying the other day, that if all of a sudden our economy collapsed (like in the great depression) and we as a group had to get by on our own skills and abilities, we’d be in serious trouble – unlike back then, when folks like my grandma were like the macgyver of food.

    I vote for a return to the basics of baking, cooking, and household skills.

  3. You know my feelings on the boxed mixes babe. Not a fan. I dont think they taste very good. And I dont think its at all easier than making my own.

    I dont always have time to do homemade, but I make a point of doing it when I do have time. I think the Sandra Lee syndrome has struck way too many people. I find it sad.

    Amen sister, preaching to the choir. 🙂

  4. So… I am not sure what “kind” I am then. I like cake box mix. I think its more nostalgic for me though. Making cake with my mom was a highlight that didn’t happen often, only birthdays. The cake making from scratch part is only a necessary evil to my *favorite* part – decorating! So sometimes I resort to the cake box quick fix to satisfy my decorating itch. SO SUE ME! hehee…

  5. Well technically baking a cake from a box is baking too. Everybody has their own priorities when it comes to baking. At least people who bake from a box bake their cake themselves instead of buying a ready made one, right? Whatever makes you happy is my motto, for me that would be baking from scratch 🙂

  6. I totally get what your saying. It reminds me of what my Italian teacher once said…the difference between an Italian woman and an American woman is that the Italian woman goes to the market and buys fresh ingredients, while the American woman opens up a can. Same idea. While I admit, I do often use bottled spaghetti sauce or other pre-made options, I do for the most part cook from scratch when possible. I think that a lot of it is due to the fact that so many women work full time now, and don’t always have time to bake from scratch. For me personally, I think baking from scratch tastes much better, and you don’t have to go to the store to buy a mix! You can’t beat that. 🙂

  7. I agree. I have tried to limit my use of prepackaged and processed foods these days. I proudly admit that I have never used spaghetti sauce in a jar, and I never will. But every once in awhile I’ll see a box of Funfetti on a shelf and make it just for my own amusement.

  8. Well funfetti is a major exception to my rule. Who doesn’t love funfetti?

  9. I totally agree. Good for you for calling out the jar of spaghetti sauce “cooks”. Nothing but “from scratch” for us. That way, you know what you’re getting and you control the taste as well.

  10. I have to be honest here, I haven’t found a homemade cake recipe that I like. Not Ever. They are all too dry or too bland, or sometimes just plain too much work. If I could find a recipe that really turned out as moist and spongy as the Betty Crocker mix that I grew up on, then I would do that.

    I make all of my cookies and bread from scratch, and I do make all of my own frosting and decorations. But my motto for cakes is that if I won’t eat it, then I won’t sell/serve it. And so far, I haven’t found a cake recipe that works within my philosophy. So if any of you want to forward some recipes to me, go for it.

    I cook from scratch when I have time & patience. For the most part, though, I’m trying desperately to just come up with something that sounds good. I go for pasta when I want a quick meal. If I have to make & dry my noodles and then simmer sauce for hours, it just defeats the purpose. Sure, I love to play with recipes, but I also like to have time to participate in my other hobbies too.

  11. Chocolate cake I’ve had a harder time finding the perfect recipe for, but I love the Vanilla cupcake cake that I made the other day.

    And for a lot of homemade meals it’s all about the freezer. I almost always have sauce in the refrigerator. I just put sauce and 1 meatball in each of my muffin tins, freeze them then throw them in a ziploc and keep them in the freezer. I do it with pizza sauce, pureed pumpkin and soups. They’re mostly things that reheat well.

    I definitely don’t always make my own pasta, but when you make it just make a large batch and store it in the freezer.

    Then you always have quality quick meals ready to go for those lazy nights

  12. I have not had good luck with the freezer portion of things. I keep enough other ingredients (like shredded cheese & meats) in bulk in the freezer, that I run out of room quickly. I also tend to lose things in the freezer and can’t find or remember them when I need them. Hopefully once we move, I can have an entire second freezer and that will help with the whole planning ahead/bulk cooking thing.

    I’m def. a chocolate cake girl, and that one is hard to find a good recipe for. I will try your vanilla sometime though.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

