Iheartcuppycakes 500 Cupcake Challenge

January 16, 2008 at 11:03 pm | Posted in Blog Event, cupcakes | 13 Comments

I won I won! Well, I kinda sorta snuck in as a winner because of my fabulous idea, but whatever I still won. Buttt, my wonderful CB almost got a beating for taking so long to make my cupcakes. It’s a good thing I love her because if I didn’t I would have … I don’t know … done something really bad 😛

Clara just got new boxes to ship cupcakes in and I convinced her to experiment with my cuppys. We discussed a number of ways to get the frosting covered cupcakes to me without getting smashed. I have to say I love being a guinea pig!

All in all I would say our little experiment and the boxes didn’t exactly work out the way it was supposed to. She sent me cuppys with and without frosting (hehe I convinced her to send me lots because I’m cool like that).

My rating of the boxes for shipping is an F. Um both sets of cuppys were tossed around the box like you would not believe. They even ended up out of the wrappers. The most disappointing part was that the boxes let too much air get to the cuppys. Clara had said they were dry, but they were a whole new level of dry when they got to me. Try rock hard. I did taste test them and I tried to ignore the dry part, but they were just dry. 🙂 The taste was ok, CB had already received my vote to get rid of the 500 cupcake cookbook because she didn’t like any of them and I have a feeling I would feel the same way even if they hadn’t had too much air exposure. I’m not going to rate the cuppys because it’s not CBs fault, BUT Puddles thought they smelled like an A+. She even got a little taste of frosting.

Now it wasn’t all bad. I was actually pretty excited because the fondant survived perfectly. They had a little frosting on them that was easily scraped off and they look perfectly wonderful. I love my fondant. I’m not a fan of the taste, so I think I may do my own experiment and see just how long I can make them last because I don’t ever want to throw them away! I love my CB!

Before Pic Courtesy of CB

I also got a pretty box and my cuppy ornament! Honestly, with all that good stuff who cares about the cuppys. Oh and did I mention that the buttercream was still yummy. I’ll just eat the buttercream and admire my other goodies 😛

Wub you CB!

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dang. I totally thought our shipping ideas would work. Guess its back to the drawing board 😦 ps. Puddles-dog is so freaking adorable! I love that picture!

  2. […] the rest of Nikki’s review on her blog along with her pictures. The one of her dog, Puddles, is just too stinkin’ […]

  3. Hmm, the engineer in me wants to jump on this shipping idea thing. I will brainstorm and email ❤

  4. Were these the glorious cupcakes left at my house the other weekend?

  5. haha nope Jon. Those will be posted tonight.

  6. Amanda, you sound like Tommy. LOL He always has a new invention up his sleeve. Crazy engineers… 😉

  7. Even though I already commented, Nikki, your DAWG is SOOOO CUTE! 🙂

  8. omg that dog is too cute. those cuppies though…

  9. I’m sorry the cupcakes didn’t make it in their original state. Is it actually possible to mail cupcakes and let them arrive ok? Probably very difficult if at all possible…
    The fondant is very pretty, love the color combination…

  10. ANDREA, if that is your real name?? aka A-nig#3! those cuppies were dang cute *before* they got man-handled by USPS. I tried my best but obviously you don’t appreciate. You hater!! LOL.

  11. Sorry about the cakes. But your dog seem to enjoy the cuppys. Next time try dividers in the box and wrap the cakes in wax paper. They just might make the trip.

  12. […] of the I<3 cuppycakes transportation challenge.  The goal is to transport a decorated cupcake without it being destroyed.  Apparently my younger sister has become a lurker on CB’s site and decided that she was up […]

  13. […] first try was a complete failure. My Post / CB’s […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

