Flourless Chocolate Cake

December 15, 2007 at 6:08 pm | Posted in Cake, Chocolate | 3 Comments

OMG this cake is a chocolate lovers heaven. It is pure chocolate decadence!

Dieters leave now, because this is pure chocolate heaven, but with a massive amount of chocolate and three sticks of butter it’s about as far from good for you as it gets.  But, if you’re looking to splurge, this is where to do it.  Soft, silky, melt in your mouth chocolaty goodness.

I was at the grocery store last night and wandered into the magazine aisle surprise surprise. While I was looking at all the wonderful cooking magazines I stumbled across Chocolatier. Now I had see the subscription for it on amazon.com a while ago and would have got a subscription because Greg is a chocoholic (he seriously needs to go to meetings), but there were a lot of bad reviews with regards to delivery and some said there weren’t enough recipes. This was the first time I had seen an actual copy of the magainze. I flipped it open and saw the recipe for Chocolate Decadence, a flourless chocolate cake and knew I had to buy the magazine and would be making the cake.

Overall the cake was very easy to make. The only problem I had was when I mixed the chocolate into the egg mixture. The recipe said to mix on low, but that left all the chocolate on the bottom and it never got mixed in. I thought it looked funny, but it wasn’t until I started to pour it out that I realized how much chocolate had yet to be mixed it so it all got dumped back in the bowl and I mixed it on medium speed.

This cake is pure chocolate heaven. So chocolatey, smooth and mmm good.

Chocolate Decadence – Chocolatier Magazine – recipe from Metro Marche in New York

Ingredients

8 large eggs

1/2 cup granulated sugar

24 oz semisweet chocolate, chopped

1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter

3 1/2 TBSP Brandy (I didn’t have it at home so I didn’t use it)

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees, wrap the outside of a 9″ (I used 8″) springform pan with heavy duty aluminum foil and find a regular cake pan or a roasting pan that the springform pan will sit inside. Grease springform pan

Heat the chocolate and butter in a double broiler then let cool while you prepare the egg mixture

Mix eggs and sugar on high until light and airy (about 6 minutes)

While eggs are mixing boil enough water to fill the outter pan half way

Once eggs are mixed slowly add the chocolate and mix on slow speed for 2 minutes (I needed to mix on medium)

Pour into springform pan and put boiling water in outer pan

Cook for approximately 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. GIMME GIMME!

    They say “Necessity is the mother of all invention” well… freak! I need that cake so someone needs to invent a way to transport cake through the computer… now! TYVM!

    LOL

  2. wowww cake looks so moisttttttt and chocolaty wonderfull recipe

  3. Ohhh, this does look like chocolate decadence!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

