Classic Brownies

December 2, 2007 at 10:26 pm | Posted in Chocolate, Dessert | 2 Comments

It was BGEX time again and as usual I couldn’t decide what to make.   Then, out of nowhere, in the middle of Target, it came to me.  Ok, not really, but I saw these adorable oven safe dishes that I NEEDED to buy and if I was going to buy them I needed to use them.  Since I had ice cream in the freezer, brownies seemed like the perfect treat.

After deciding on brownies I needed to find a recipe.  I’m usually a boxed brownie girl.  I just like them.  There are only a few things that are better in boxes and brownies are usually one of them.  But my aunt had just told me how much she loved the ATK Classic Brownie recipe so I figured I would give them a shot.

Boy oh boy were they good.  I don’t think I’ll be baking boxed brownies anymore.  And apparently Kristi’s hubby agreed because he pretty much ate them all in one sitting 😛

I made most of the batch in a regular brownie pan, but I did make two (one for me and one for Greg) in my new dishes.  Sooo cute.

Classic Brownies (adapted from the America’s Test Kitchen Classic Brownie Recipe)

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups cake flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped fine

12 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into 6 pieces

2 1/4 cups sugar

4 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Combine flour, salt, and baking powder; set aside.

Melt chocolate and butter in double broiler.  Stir until melted.

Once melted, remove from heat and wisk in sugar

Wisk eggs into chocolate mixture one at a time

Add vanilla to chocolate mixture

Fold in flour mixture (1/3 of flour at a time)

Pour into greased pan and bake at 325 degrees for approx 30 mins

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. omg. so freaking cute! love the dishes.

  2. I love the dishes!! And brownies and ice cream – YUM!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

