Chicken Pomodoro Pannini

December 2, 2007 at 11:05 pm | Posted in Chicken, sauce | 1 Comment

Please excuse the paper plate. I was soo ready to dig in I just tossed it on a plate, snapped a pic and was done with it.

I love the new Chicken Pomodoro Panini sandwich at Panera. It’s soooo good. I could eat them all day. With the ones I made tonight I wasn’t going for an exact replica, but something close. And while they didn’t taste exactly the same, they were still just as good!

In the end they weren’t really panini’s. I can’t seem to find my panini press (I have a sinking suspicion Greg brought it to storage) so instead of being yummy pannini’s they were yummy toasted sandwiches. Still very good and very easy. The only problem is that I have a pretty big batch of pomodoro sauce that I used very little of. Yay for leftovers and more of these tasty sandwiches later in the week.

I’m just going to wing the directions, because other than the pomodoro sauce, they’re pretty easy to make.

Panini Directions

Sautee cubed chicken breast sprinkled with salt and pepper in EVOO

Put fresh mozarella on a slice of bread, add chicken and a few pieces of fresh basil then top with pomodoro sauce (recipe below), put the other piece of bread on and grill in a panini maker. If you’re going ghetto style like me, toast the bread and mozarella first, then add everything else and toast for another minute or two.

Pomodoro Sauce (Adapted from David Liberman’s Basic Tomato (Pomodoro) Sauce recipe)

Ingredients

5 tablespoons olive oil
12 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
6 (28-ounce) cans chopped tomatoes
2 1/2 teaspoons sugar
salt
1 small bunch of basil

Directions

Put olive oil and garlic in a pot and cook garlic for a minute or two.

Add Everything else, an let cook for 15 minutes.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. gimme me sandwich. nft.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

