Vermont Apple Cider Donuts

October 23, 2007 at 5:41 pm | Posted in donuts | 1 Comment

One of Greg’s favorite foods this time of year are cider donuts. We usually end up at the Topsfield Fair at least twice to stock up on donuts. This year things were a little crazy the week of the fair and we weren’t able to go. They were also sold out of donuts the day we went apple picking.

To make up for the lack of cider donut goodness I decided to make my own. I found this recipe on bakspace and decided to go for it. I don’t have a donut cutter, but decided to give shaping my own a try. To put it simply, it didn’t work. Well, that’s not entirely true, the mini donuts I made turned out ok, but the big ones ended up too thick and I had to turn the heat way down to get them to cook on the inside before the outside was too fried (yes, there is such a thing). In the end I decided donut holes were easier so I went with them and I never did get around to glazing them. I had left them in a Tupperware lined with paper towels to soak up some of the grease and before I knew it Greg got his hands on them. When I finally got my camera out, there was one measly donut hole left to take a picture of so that’s all you get.

All in all they were pretty good, but they definitely weren’t as good as the ones from the fair or local orchards. I have high standards for cider donuts so it would probably be pretty hard to beat the ones I love. Greg liked them though and that’s what matters because I made them for him.

Apple Cider Donuts

1 cup apple cider
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup solid vegetable shortening
2 large eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk
3 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp.baking soda
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
vegetable oil or shortening -for frying

GLAZE
2 cup confectionersf sugar
1/4 cup apple cider

For glaze, mix confectionersf sugar and cider.
Dip doughnuts while warm;
serve warm.(I didnft dip, I just drizzled the glaze over them)

Boil apple cider in small saucepan until it is reduced to 1/4 cup, 8 to 10 minutes; cool.

Beat sugar with shortening until smooth. Add eggs and mix well, then add buttermilk and reduced cider.

Stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg in another bowl. Add to liquid ingredients; mix just enough to combine. Transfer dough to lightly floured board and pat to 1/2-inch thickness. Cut with 2 1/2- to 3-inch doughnut cutter; reserve doughnut holes and reroll and cut scraps.

Add enough oil or shortening to fill a deep pan 3 inches; heat to 375ŒF. Fry several doughnuts at a time, turning once or twice, until browned and cooked through, about 4 minutes. Remove to paper towels with slotted spoon.

Source: The Recipe Link.com

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMm donuts………..aggggggggggghhhhhh


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

