Cooking with real pumpkin

October 23, 2007 at 6:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags:

I’ve been thinking about trying to cook with an actual pumpkin this year and when I was buying a pumpkin to carve I decided to go for it when I saw the sugar pumpkins in the corner.

Contrary to popular belief, canned pumpkin isn’t actually pumpkin at all. It’s make with the Dickenson, which is actually a field squash. There’s an interesting little read on slashfood from a few years ago that I found when I was looking for more info about using a real pumpkin.

All in all the hardest part was cutting the damn thing up, but other than that it was pretty easy.

1. Cut the top off, remove the seeds and stringy orange stuff (No, I don’t know what it’s called)

2. Here you have a few options. I chose to cut the pumpkin in quarters and boil it because I felt it gave me the best chance of not screwing it up. You can also put it in the microwave (some places say to cut, put in water then microwave for approx 15 mins others just say to toss it in for 15 mins) OR you can bake it. For some reason I was not confident enough to bake it and boiling was more appealing than microwaving for some reason so I went with it and it only took about 30 mins

3. Once you finish boiling, baking or microwaving your pumpkin scoop out the flesh. I used a little cookie scoop and it worked perfectly. The flesh came out really easily, but it was definitely too stringy to eat as I had read just about everywhere

4. Throw it in your food processor and you’re good to go.

I will be baking with it later this week so I’ll let you know how that goes when I get that far. I have read that you should probably use a little less liquid when making pies because it’s more watery than canned pumpkin, but that things like cookies and bars should be fine with it as is. I think I’m going to make some bread so those tips get me nowhere, but I think bread falls into the use as is category. What do you think?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great job on getting that pumpkin open! Can’t wait to see what your final product will look like! I love pumpkin anything!

    Welcome to The Foodie Blogroll!

  2. Well she let this batch go bad, but thats why we bought even more!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

